CS appoints 10 new members to KVDA board.

The government has appointed 10 new directors to the Kerio Valley Development Authority board.

East African Community and Regional Development CS Adan Mohammed has gazetted the names. They are Pauline Lenguris, Francisca Ereng, Andrew Karumbo, Adan Omar, Leonard Sang, George Irungu, James Kiprop, Grace Were, Eric Bett and Susan Chesiyna. Their appointment took effect on Thursday last week. They will serve for three years.

The authority is already developing two new mega-dams in Elgeyo Marakwet county for more than Sh65 billion. The new directors will oversee the successful implementation of the donor-funded Kimwarer and Arror hydropower projects.

ALSO READ:The role KVDA plays in developing North Rift.

Former Keiyo South MP Jackson Kiptanui was appointed last year to serve as KVDA chairman for three years. David Kimosop will remain the CEO. He has been leading the restructuring of the corporation. KVDA is the lead government development agency in the North Rift. It operates in eight counties.

Work on the Arror and Kimwarer dams is underway, with experts almost completing their designs. The National Lands Commission is in the process of gazetting the parcels for the projects. More than 1,000 people will be relocated. The government has identified alternative land, mostly in Trans Nzoia. Kimosop said they had successfully engaged the communities ahead of their resettlement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *